MATCH 16: Arkansas State (10-5, 2-0) at UT Arlington (7-5, 1-1)
Friday, Sept. 28 • 6:30 p.m. CDT
College Park Center • Arlington, Texas
Series: Series tied 9-9
Live Stats:; Live Video: Mavericks All-Access ($)

MATCH 17: Arkansas State (10-5, 2-0) at Texas State (11-5, 2-0)
Saturday, Sept. 29 • 6:30 p.m. CDT
Strahan Arena • San Marcos, Texas
Series: Series tied 8-8
Live Stats:; Live Video: Texas State Bobcats All-Access ($)

This season is the 44th year of volleyball at Arkansas State and A-State has an all-time mark of 1,035-524-5 (.663) and had the 19th most wins in Division I and was tied for the 25th best winning percentage in Division I history entering the 2018 campaign.
A-State improved to 10-5 on the year and 2-0 in league play with wins over Troy and South Alabama last weekend. The wins moved the Red Wolves’ win streak to eight matches, the longest win streak since 13 in 2016, and gave A-State a sweep of the conference-opening weekend for the fourth time under Coach Rehr. The 3-0 win over Troy improved A-State to 20-8 all-time in SBC openers.
Senior Carlisa May was named the Sun Belt Offensive Player of the Week after averaging 5.75 kills per set (46 kills) over the first two matches of SBC play. The Lee’s Summit, Mo., native posted 17 against Troy before 29 against South Alabama, the most by an A-State player since at least 2010. It is also the most by a SBC player this season, four more than the next closest.
The award for May was the 15th weekly award of her career, while it was the third of the season for A-State after Tatum Ticknor and Ellie Watkins earned awards after week one.
Madison Turner tied a career high with seven blocks in the win over Troy and had 10 blocks over both matches for a 1.25 per set mark that is tied for fifth best in the SBC through two league matches.
The win over Troy improved A-State to 18-1 all-time against the Trojans and is the eighth straight win over Troy. The come-from-behind win over South Alabama was the first win for the Red Wolves after falling behind 0-2 this year and last since Sept. 3, 2016 when A-State rallied to beat Cal Poly 3-2.

A-State vs. UT Arlington Series History
A-State and UT Arlington have battled to an even 9-9 mark in the all-time series. The two teams met as Southland Conference foes six times from 1982 to 1986 with A-State dropping all six matches versus the Mavericks.
The two teams didn’t play again until the 2001 season when Arkansas State claimed its first victory in the series, a 3-2 victory at the Texas-Arlington Classic in the second match of that season. The Mavericks and Red Wolves also played one other time in nonconference action, with that meeting occurring in the 2009 season. UTA won that match 3-2 at the UT Arlington Hilton Invitational.
A-State and UT Arlington have played 10 times since the Mavericks joined the Sun Belt Conference in 2013 with all the matchups coming with David Rehr as head coach. The Red Wolves own a 7-2 record over that span. The teams split the two meetings in each of the first two seasons with the road team winning in 2013 before each team protected its home floor in 2014.
Since the loss in 2014 the Red Wolves have won six straight against the Mavs. A-State won the lone meeting in 2015, three contests in 2016, and two last season. The Red Wolves swept UTA in Jonesboro last season with a double-double from Drew Jones (13 kills, 10 digs) leading the way for the team. Carlisa May had 10 kills and the Red Wolves out blocked the Mavericks 9-4. UTA won the first set in the meeting in Arlington last season, but A-State rallied to win 3-1. May had 17 kills, while Ellie Watkins handed out 37 assists.
UT Arlington is 7-5 and went 1-1 last weekend with a win over ULM and loss to Louisiana to open conference play. There are no common opponents between the Red Wolves and Mavericks so far this season.

A-State vs. Texas State Series History
The Red Wolves and Bobcats are tied at 8-8 in the all-time series history. The first meeting between the two schools occurred in 1981 at the Southwestern AIAW Regional Tournament in Nacogdoches, Texas. Texas State, then referred to as Southwest Texas State, claimed a 2-0 win over the Red Wolves.
The Red Wolves reeled off six straight victories in the series, four of which came as non-conference opponents before the 2013 season, to account for six of their eight wins. Texas State snapped the streak with a 3-0 win in the 2013 SBC Tournament in Troy, Ala., despite dropping both regular-season contests to the Red Wolves.
The Bobcats were able to extend their winning streak over the Red Wolves to four matches by claiming all three matches in 2014. Texas State won the conference opener in Jonesboro 3-0 before winning two 3-1 decisions in San Marcos, the last being in the SBC Tournament semifinals to mark the second straight year the Bobcats ended A-State’s season.
A-State defeated Texas State in the teams’ lone meeting in 2015, but the Bobcats won 2016’s first meeting in San Marcos 3-1 to snap A-State’s 20-match SBC win streak. However, A-State was able to bounce back to sweep Texas State Nov. 5, 2016 on the Red Wolves’ Senior Night.
The Bobcats swept both meetings last season. Drew Jones had 13 kills, while Carlisa May had 11 in the first meeting. Tatum Ticknor picked up 16 digs as A-State was out hit .242-.154. May recorded 10 kills in the match in San Marcos, while Ticknor had 16 digs again, but A-State hit only .161 to Texas State’s .293.
Head coach David Rehr is 4-6 against Texas State. Texas State and Coastal Carolina (1-3) are the only league schools Coach Rehr has a losing record against.
Texas State is currently 11-5 and 2-0 in league play after defeating both ULM and Louisiana. The Bobcats are on a six-match win streak and haven’t played a common opponent with the Red Wolves.

Eight Straight Wins
A-State moved to 20-8 all-time in SBC openers with the 3-0 win over Troy and swept the opening weekend of conference play for the fourth time under Coach Rehr with a 3-2 win over South Alabama. Those wins improved A-State’s win streak to eight matches, which is currently tied for 11th longest in Division I.
The eight-match win streak is already greater than last season’s longest win streak of seven matches. It is the fourth longest win streak under Coach Rehr after a nine-match win streak (2014), 13-match win streak (2016), and 24-match win streak (2015).
The eight-match win streak is currently the longest in the conference. Texas State is next with a six-match win streak.