JONESBORO, Ark. (2/28/19) – Freshman sprinter Jermie Walker was named the Sun Belt Conference Indoor Men’s Newcomer of the Year, the league office announced Thursday.

The end of season awards are voted on by the league’s head coaches.

Walker had two top-three finishes at the Sun Belt Conference Indoor Championships. He took third in the 200-meter dash in 21.48 seconds, the third-fastest time in program history while placing second in the 400-meter dash at 47.78 seconds, the seventh-fastest time in program history.

A-State saw Carter Shell (long jump) along with Caitland Smith (60m dash) and Emma Nwofor (60m hurdles) earn First Team All-Sun Belt Conference accolades. Second Team All-Conference honorees were; Michael Carr (pole vault), Eron Carter (shot put), Hayden Hampton (heptathlon), Heinrich Herbst (800m run), Frank Massey (high jump), Jermie Walker (400m dash) and Evangelynn Harris (shot put). Third Team All-Conference honorees were; K’Den Fortune-Johnson (4x400m relay), Amari James (60m hurdles), Darrian Lockett (4x400m relay), Tiaan Steenkamp (high jump) and Osereme Erewele (60m dash).

The Red Wolves begin the outdoor season on March 22-23 at the Mississippi State Relays. A-State will host the 2019 Sun Belt Conference Outdoor Championships May 10-12 at the A-State Track & Field Complex.