NEW ORLEANS, La. (4/17/14) – Arkansas State junior Tamara Slijepcevic was named to the Sun Belt All-Conference Singles Second Team at the 2014 SBC Women’s Tennis Championship banquet Thursday night in New Orleans, La.

The Novi Sad, Serbia native finished the regular season with a 9-7 record, all from the No. 1 singles position for the Red Wolves.  Slijepcevic’s longest winning streak of the year was three matches from Feb. 22-March 1.  She defeated UT Martin’s Ivon Simic in straight sets 6-0, 6-2 Feb. 22 before coming from behind to defeat UCA’s Simona Horsikyan 2-6, 6-3, 6-4 in A-State’s home match Feb. 25.  She closed out the streak with a 7-5, 6-2 win over Kennesaw State’s Virginie Stein March 1.

This is the third year in a row Slijepcevic has earned Sun Belt All-Conference honors.  She earned All-SBC Singles Second Team a season ago after posting a 12-4 record as a sophomore and was a member of the All-SBC Singles Team as a freshman with a 17-2 record.

“I’m happy for Tamara and it’s a big deal for her to be named All-Conference for the third season in a row,” A-State women’s tennis coach Marina Engelbrecht said.  “I’m proud of her and all she has done for the team this year.”

Slijepcevic notched several impressive wins over the course of the year including a win over Sun Belt All-Conference Singles First Team selection Jessica Kahts (10-5) of Texas State and KSU’s Stein (9-8), who earned first-team honors in the Atlantic Sun Conference.  Her win over Marquette’s Ana Pimienta (10-11) helped the Red Wolves to a 4-3 victory over the Golden Eagles in Jonesboro and preserved A-State’s first undefeated season at home since 2000.

The Arkansas State women’s tennis team earned the seventh seed in the Sun Belt Conference Women’s Tennis Tournament and plays the No. 2 seed UT Arlington Mavericks in its first match Friday.  First serve from the City Park Tennis Center in New Orleans, La. is set for 11:30 a.m.


2014 Sun Belt Conference Women’s Tennis Awards

Player of the Year

Abigail Tere-Apisah (Georgia State)


Coach of the Year

Robin Stephenson (Georgia State)


Sun Belt All-Conference Singles First Team

Abigail Tere-Apisah (Georgia State)

Medy Blankvoort (UL Monroe)

Laura Valkova (South Alabama)

Elizabeth Thoms (UT Arlington)

Jessica Kahts (Texas State)

Trang Huynh (Troy)


Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles First Team

Abigail Tere-Apisah/Masa Grgan (Georgia State)

Marcia Tere-Apisah/Tarani Kamoe (Georgia State)

Trang Huynh/Anja Cosovic (Troy)


Sun Belt All-Conference Singles Second Team

Tamara Slijepcevic (Arkansas State)

Linn Timmermann (Georgia State)

Petra Horakova (UL Monroe)

Monica Midden (South Alabama)

Angeles de los Rios (UT Arlington)

Anja Cosovic (Troy)


Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles Second Team

Monica Mitty/Laura Valkova (South Alabama)

Emily Newton/Michaela Meszarosova (South Alabama)

Jessica Kahts/Ana Laura Gutierrez (Texas State)