JONESBORO, Ark. (10/27/16) – The Arkansas State baseball team will hold its annual “Red Wolf Series” this upcoming week with the first game set for Oct. 29 at 10 a.m. at Tomlinson Stadium in Jonesboro.

The Red Wolf Series will consist of two best-of-three series with a game seven, if necessary, to break the tie if both series are split. Each contest will be seven innings long with a special format in any extra innings to break the tie. The eighth inning will be played with a runner on second and two outs, while the ninth inning on will have the bases loaded, two outs, and a full count on the hitter.

The event will get underway at 10 a.m. on Oct. 29 with the final two games of the first three-game series to follow on Oct. 31 and Nov. 1 with first pitch scheduled for 3:15 p.m. in both contests. After a two-day break the second three-game set will follow on Nov. 4, Nov. 5, and Nov. 7 with all games to start at 3:15 p.m. Game seven, if necessary, will begin at 3:15 p.m. on Nov. 8. All games will be at Tomlinson Stadium.

Every position player must start one game per series and each pitcher must throw to at least one hitter in each series. There are also special rules on pitch counts in place.

Arkansas State returns 16 lettermen from last season and welcomes 16 newcomers to the squad along with four players that redshirted last season. Head coach Tommy Raffo will be entering his ninth season in 2017, while pitching coach Caleb Longshore will be in his second campaign. Assistant Noah Sanders will be in his fifth year with the program and second as a full-time coach. The team added Brian Solemsaas to the staff as a volunteer coach on Oct. 4.

For the latest on A-State baseball follow the team by logging onto the Arkansas State Baseball Facebook page or by following the team on Twitter (@ASTATEBaseball) and Instagram (arkansasstatebaseball).

Team Solemsaas:

Position Players: Tim Seldomridge, Jake Bakamus, Jeremy Brown, Tony Ortiz, Garry Hill, Winston Welch, Colten Nix, Cullen Ray, Daltan Lovell, Chase Nix, Garrett Rucker, and Austin Powell.

Pitchers: Peyton Culbertson, Tyler Zuber, Conrad Ray, Bo Ritter, Chase Nix, Tyler Mitzel, and Grant Schroeder.

Team Sanders:

Position Players: Grant Hawkins, Toby Johnson, Alex Howard, Joe Schrimpf, Casey Vaughan, Derek Birginske, Drew Tipton, Justin Felix, J.D. Rainwater, and Blake Wynn.

Pitchers: Bryan Ayers, Zachary Patterson, Collin Cahill, Tanner Kirby, Brandon Stuckenschneider, Bradey Welsh, Yasuhito Abe, Blake Wynn, and Coulton Lee.


Red Wolf Series Schedule
Oct. 29: 10:00 a.m.
Oct. 31: 3:15 p.m.
Nov. 1: 3:15 p.m.
Nov. 4: 3:15 p.m.
Nov. 5: 3:15 p.m.
Nov. 7: 3:15 p.m.
Nov. 8: 3:15 p.m. (if necessary)