NEW ORLEANS, La. (4/20/17) – Arkansas State senior student-athlete Julie Gauguery has been named to the All-Sun Belt Conference Singles' Second-Team the league office announced at its annual awards banquet Thursday evening.

The Sailly-en Ostrevent, France native compiled an 11-2 record from the No. 1 singles' position, and marks the first time in Gauguery's career that she has earned Sun Belt All-Conference honors. She is also the first A-State student-athlete to earn the honor since Tamar Slijepcevic earned first-team honors in 2014-15.

“This is an outstanding accomplishment for Julie and speaks to the hard work she has put in this season,” A-State head coach Kel Lange said. “Julie has had an outstanding season and has been one of the leaders of this team. I am very proud of her and the accomplishments she has earned this season.”

The Arkansas State senior has enjoyed the best season of her four-year career this season which has included the best winning-percentage of her career. She began the year by winning six out of her first seven matches, with her only loss against a nationally ranked opponent from Ole Miss. During the middle of the season she enjoyed a five-match winning streak and enters the tournament on another five match win streak.

Of the matches that she has finished (four of her matches gave gone unfinished) she has dropped seven sets and has won six of her matches without dropping a set. Throughout the year she notched several impressive victories, including a straight set win over Abilene Christian's Erin Walker and a three-set victory over Texas State's Eva Dench. During the fall campaign, she also picked up a win over Oklahoma's Simran Sethi in straight sets during the ITA Women's Central Region Championship.

Follow the Red Wolves tennis team on Twitter at @AStateTennis for the latest news and updates on match times and schedule changes. 


Women's Tennis Awards

Player of the Year
Alexandria Stiteler (South Alabama)

Player to Watch
Arina Taluyenko (Georgia State)

Newcomer of the Year
Stefana Andrei (ULM)

Freshman of the Year
Rylie Cox (Coastal Carolina)

Coach of the Year
Terrence De Jongh (ULM)

All-Sun Belt Singles First Team
Rylie Cox (Coastal Carolina)
Kristin Rehse (Georgia State)
Arina Taluyenko (Georgia State)
Stefana Andrei (ULM)
Tiffany Mylonas (ULM)
Alexandria Stiteler (South Alabama)

All-Sun Belt Doubles First Team
Astrid Gehre/Anna Wichert (UTA)
Agustina Serio/Valeria Lopez (UTA)
Sanae Ohta/Nancy Karaky (Troy)

All-Sun Belt Singles Second Team
Julie Gauguery (Arkansas State)
Marie Babayan (Coastal Carolina)
Petra Horakova (ULM)
Laura Matuskova (South Alabama)
Angeles de los Rios (UTA)
Agustina Serio (UTA)

All-Sun Belt Doubles Second Team
Stefana Andrei/Petra Horakova (ULM)
Patricia Martins/Laura Valkova (South Alabama)
Alexandria Stiteler/Monica Mitta (South Alabama)