JONESBORO, Ark. (10/31/17) – Arkansas State women’s soccer forward Sarah Sodoma has been named the Sun Belt Conference Freshman of the Year, while Kelsey Ponder and Riley Ebenroth joined Sodoma as Second-Team All-Sun Belt Conference selections, the league office announced Tuesday morning.

Sodoma led all freshman with eight goals on the season, a mark that is also tied for third most in a single season by an Arkansas State player. Her eight goals are also the most ever by a Red Wolves’ freshman, while her 20 points also ranks as the most ever by a true freshman in school history.

The Manchester, Mo., native ranked in the top-5 in the Sun Belt in goals, goals per game, points and points per game and ranks in the top-100 in Division I in goal scored and points.

Ponder earned second-team all-conference status for the second time her career after setting numerous school records this season. She broke her own record by collecting five shutouts on the year and currently possesses the lowest single-season goals-against average in the program’s history at 0.57. She also owns the record for most by a goalkeeper in a career at 14, and the St. Louis, Mo., native ranks third in the nation with .923 saves percentage.

Ebenroth joined the Red Wolves this season as a transfer and immediately helped solidify and defensive unit that has quickly become of the toughest to score against the league. The Red Wolves have allowed the fewest goal (14) and has the lowest goals against average (0.86) in the Sun Belt thanks in part to the efforts of Ebenroth.

Offensively, the O’Fallon, Mo., native had four assists and became one of the league’s top free and corner kick takers. All four of her assists came off a corner or free kick on the year, while two other goals were created as a result of a corner kick she sent into the scoring area.

The three all-conference selections are the most in the program’s history for a single season.

The Red Wolves will take on No. 5 Little Rock in the opening round of the Sun Belt Conference Tournament Wednesday, Nov. 1 at 10 a.m. in Foley, Ala., at the Foley Sports and Tourism Complex. The match will air on and the WatchESPN App.

For the latest on the A-State women’s soccer, log onto the team’s Facebook page at and follow them on Twitter @AStateSoccer.


First Team All-Sun Belt

Arola Aparicio Gili (Little Rock, Junior, Forward)

Kaylee Davis (Texas State, Sophomore, Forward)

Rio Hardy (South Alabama, Senior, Forward)

Kassi Hormuth (Texas State, Senior, Forward)

Doro Greulich (Little Rock, Sophomore, Midfielder)

Rachel Grout (Texas State, Senior, Midfielder)

Danielle Henley (South Alabama, Senior, Midfielder)

Chandler Cooney (Texas State, Senior, Defender)

Hannah Godfrey (South Alabama, Junior, Defender)

Steffi Hardy (South Alabama, Senior, Defender)

Heather Martin (Texas State, Sophomore, Goalkeeper)

Second Team All-Sun Belt

Kory Dixon (South Alabama, Sophomore, Forward)

Daniella Famili (Coastal Carolina, Senior, Forward)

Sarah Sodoma (Arkansas State, Freshman, Forward)

Selm Bjorgvinsdottir (South Alabama, Freshman, Midfielder)

Chelsea Followwell (South Alabama, Senior, Midfielder)

Jordan Kondikoff (Texas State, Sophomore, Midfielder)

Julia Winter (Troy, Sophomore, Midfielder)

Riley Ebenroth (Arkansas State, Junior, Defender)

Haley Roberson (Troy, Senior, Defender)

Liesa Seifert (Little Rock, Junior, Defender)

Kelsey Ponder (Arkansas State, Junior, Goalkeeper)


2017 Player of the Year

Rio Hardy (South Alabama, Senior, Forward)


2017 Offensive Player of the Year

Kassi Hormuth (Texas State, Senior, Forward)


2017 Defensive Player of the Year

Hannah Godfrey (South Alabama, Junior, Defender)


2017 Freshman of the Year

Sarah Sodoma (Arkansas State, Freshman, Forward)


2017 Newcomer of the Year

Kaylee Davis (Texas State, Sophomore, Forward)


2017 Coach of the Year

Kat Conner, Texas State