JONESBORO, Ark. (5/17/18) – Arkansas State track and field has a school record 21 entries among 15 student-athletes headed to Sacramento, Calif., for the NCAA West Preliminary Round May 24-26 at Hornet Stadium.

The 15 student-athletes, 10 men and five women, are a program best. This marks the fourth-straight season that the Red Wolves will have entrants in 15 or more events.

Caitland Smith (100m/200m), Briana Hardiman (400m), Darragh May (100m hurdles/high jump), Babette Vandeput (discus throw) and Calea Carr (discus throw/hammer throw) have qualified for the women’s meet while Jaylen Bacon (100m/200m), Elijah Ross (100m/200m), Heinrich Herbst (800m), Jamil Peeples (110m hurdles), Nick Hilson (400m hurdles), David Phillips (high jump), Michael Carr (pole vault), Carter Shell (long jump), Itamar Levi (shot put/discus throw) and Cristian Ravar Ladislau (hammer throw) will compete on the men’s side.

Athletes who rank among the top 48 in their respective event earn berths into the NCAA West Preliminary Round. The best 24 relay times also advanced to the NCAA prelims. Athletes with the top 12 times/marks and the best 12 relay teams at both the East and West prelims will qualify for the NCAA Championships in Eugene, Oregon, June 6-9.

The 2018 NCAA West Region Preliminary begins Thursday, May 24, at 2:00 p.m. (CT) with the men’s hammer throw and women’s javelin throw competitions. The men’s 400-meter hurdles at 6:30 p.m. (CT) is the first event on the track.

Jaylen Bacon leads the field in the men’s 100-meter dash with his time of 9.99 seconds coming twice last weekend at the Sun Belt Conference Championships. Elijah Ross ranks 15th in the 100-meter, sprinting to a time of 10.25 in the finals at the SBC meet. Bacon ranks third in the region, eighth nationally, in the 200-meter dash at 20.25 seconds while Ross enters the meet at 20th in 20.68 seconds. Caitland Smith will sprint in the women’s 100-meter and 200-meter dashes as she ranks 16th regionally with a school record time of 23.03 seconds and 20th in the 100m at 11.29 seconds.

Briana Hardiman, silver medalist at the SBC Outdoor Championships, enters the prelims ranked 45th regionally in the 400-meter dash with a time of 54.08 seconds. Heinrich Herbst, SBC bronze medalist, comes in at 28th on the regional list in the 800-meter run at 1:49.59.

Nick Hilson returns to the NCAA West prelims for the second-straight year in the 400-meter hurdles. Hilson ranks 33rd entering the meet after a silver medal run of 51.41 seconds at the SBC Championships. Jamil Peeples checks in at 38th in the 110-meter hurdles with a season-best time of 14.14 seconds. Darragh May will have a busy weekend as she will run in the 100-meter hurdles and compete in the high jump. May ranks 39th in the high jump at 1.76m (5-9.25) and 44th in the 100-meter hurdles (13.62).

David Phillips, gold medalist at the SBC meet, ranks 39th in the high jump rankings with a season-best at 2.11m (6-11.00). Michael Carr, one of seven pole vaulters in program history to clear 18 feet, ranks fifth in the region with the season-best vault of 5.50m (18-00.50) earlier this year. Carter Shell will compete in the long jump as he enters the weekend ranked 24th regionally with a jump of 7.69m (25-2.75).

The throws group will send five athletes to Sacramento to compete in five events. Cristian Ravar Ladislau is ranked third in the region with a hammer throw of 68.73m (225-6) while Itamar Levi ranks 12th in both the shot put (18.83m/61-9.50) and discus throw (57.45m/188-6). Calea Carr will compete in the hammer throw and discus throw while Babette Vandeput joins her in the discus throw competition. Carr ranks 28th in the hammer throw at 60.32m (197-11) while coming in at 30th in the discus throw (52.55m/172-5). Vandeput ranks 44th in the discus at 51.71m (169-8).

For the latest on the A-State track and field, log onto the team’s Facebook page at or follow the team on Twitter or Instagram at @AStateTrack. 

NCAA West Preliminary Round
Hornet Stadium | Sacramento, Calif.

Arkansas State Athletes

 | Jaylen Bacon & Elijah Ross | First Round – May 24 8:30 PM (CT), Quarterfinal – May 25 8:00 PM (CT)
200 | Jaylen Bacon & Elijah Ross | First Round – May 25 9:30 PM (CT), Quarterfinal – May 26 9:35 PM (CT)
800 | Heinrich Herbst | First Round – May 24 10:10 PM (CT), Quarterfinal – May 25 8:30 PM (CT)
 | Jamil Peeples | First Round – May 25 6:30 PM (CT), Quarterfinal – May 26 – 9:05 PM (CT)
400H | Nick Hilson | First Round – May 24 6:30 PM (CT), Quarterfinal – May 25 9:00 PM (CT)
High Jump
 | David Phillips | First Round – May 26 6:00 PM (CT)
Pole Vault | Michael Carr | First Round – May 24 6:30 PM (CT)
Long Jump | Carter Shell | First Round – May 24 6:30 PM (CT)
Shot Put | Itamar Levi | First Round – May 26 6:30 PM (CT)
Discus Throw | Itamar Levi | First Round – May 25 2:00 PM (CT)
Hammer Throw | Cristian Ravar Ladislau | First Round – May 24 2:00 PM (CT)

 | Caitland Smith | First Round – May 24 8:55 PM (CT), Quarterfinal – May 25 8:15 PM (CT)
200 | Caitland Smith | First Round – May 25 9:55 PM (CT), Quarterfinal – May 26 9:50 PM (CT)
 | Darragh May | First Round – May 25 7:00 PM (CT), Quarterfinal – May 26 9:20 PM (CT)
High Jump | Darragh May | First Round – May 24 6:00 PM (CT)
Discus Throw | Calea Carr & Babette Vandeput | First Round – May 25 6:30 PM (CT)
Hammer Throw | Calea Carr | First Round – May 26 2:00 PM (CT)

*Times subject to change