JONESBORO, Ark. (5/21/18) – Arkansas State senior infielder Jeremy Brown earned All-Sun Belt Conference First Team honors as a utility player, while junior first baseman Kyle MacDonald was named the SBC Newcomer of the Year and garnered an All-SBC Second Team selection as the league announced its postseason awards Monday afternoon.

A native of Festus, Mo., Brown split roughly half of his games at second base and third base, a position he hadn’t played at A-State prior to this season, to earn the First-Team utility honors from the league. Brown has hit 20 doubles, tied for the third most in school history, and has a triple-slash line of .324/.405/.505 on the year. Additionally, he’s hit four homers, driven in 28 runs, scored 30 times, and racked up the second most total bases on the team with 95.

A native of Mississauga, Ont., MacDonald has put together a monster season at the dish to pick up the Sun Belt Newcomer of the Year award, the first time an A-State player has claimed the honor, along with his selection as the All-SBC Second Team first baseman. The Canadian has swatted 15 homers, tied for the second most in A-State history in a single season, to go along with 50 RBI, which is currently 10th most in school history.

Additionally, MacDonald has a triple-slash line of .353/.470/.679 with the .470 on-base percentage and .679 slugging percentage ranking first in the league. The slugging percentage as it stands would rank as fifth best on A-State’s list for a single season and be the highest since the 2006 season. His on-base percentage, total bases (127), runs scored (49), and walks (38) would all rank inside the top 15 for a single season in Red Wolves’ history.

This is the first time since 2016 that A-State has placed two players on the league’s All-Conference squads and also marks the second occurrence of an A-State player winning a specialty award from the SBC after Jacob Lee was named Sun Belt Pitcher of the Year in 2012.

Arkansas State opens the Sun Belt Conference Championship Tournament Tuesday night at 6:30 p.m. against UT Arlington in Lafayette, La. All games of the event will be broadcast on ESPN+.

For the latest on A-State baseball follow the team by logging onto the Arkansas State Baseball Facebook page or by following the team on Twitter (@AStateBaseball) and Instagram (arkansasstatebaseball).

All-Sun Belt Baseball First Team

Jason Bilous (Coastal Carolina, Junior, SP)

Brian Eichhorn (Georgia Southern, Junior, SP)

Colten Schmidt (Louisiana, Senior, SP)

Justin Garcia (Little Rock, Senior, RP)

Nick Gatewood (Georgia State, Junior, C)

Kevin Woodall, Jr. (Coastal Carolina, Senior, 1B)

Cory Wood (Coastal Carolina, Sophomore, 2B)

Seth Lancaster (Coastal Carolina, Senior, SS)

Drew Frederic (Troy, Sophomore, 3B)

Dylan Hardy (South Alabama, Junior, OF)

Travis Swaggerty (South Alabama, Junior, OF)

Joey Denison (Troy, Senior, OF)

Jeremy Brown (Arkansas State, Senior, UTIL)

Zach Bierman (Coastal Carolina, Junior, DH)

All-Sun Belt Baseball Second Team

Hunter Gaddis (Georgia State, Sophomore, SP)

Tyler Carr (South Alabama, Senior, SP)

Andrew Crane (Troy, Senior, SP)

Matt Eardensohn (Coastal Carolina, Junior, RP)

Carter Perkins (South Alabama, Junior, C)

Kyle MacDonald (Arkansas State, Junior, 1B)

Jonathan Ortega (Texas State, Junior, 2B)

Matt Sanders (Troy, Senior, SS)

Brendan Donovan (South Alabama, Junior, 3B)

Parker Chavers (Coastal Carolina, Freshman, OF)

Daniel Lahare (Louisiana, Junior, OF)

Rigsby Mosley (Troy, Freshman, OF)

Kennon Fontenot (Louisiana, Senior, UTIL)

Ryan Glass (Georgia State, Freshman, DH)


Sun Belt Baseball Player of the Year

Joey Denison (Troy, Senior, OF)


Sun Belt Baseball Pitcher of the Year

Colten Schmidt (Louisiana, Senior, SP)


Sun Belt Baseball Freshman of the Year

Rigsby Mosley (Troy, Freshman, OF)


Sun Belt Baseball Newcomer of the Year

Kyle MacDonald (Arkansas State, Junior, 1B)


Sun Belt Baseball Ron Maestri Coach of the Year

Gary Gilmore, Coastal Carolina