JONESBORO, Ark. (3/9/19) – First Team All-Sun Belt Conference selection Lanard Bonner was honored during the Arkansas State men’s basketball game Saturday at First National Bank Arena as a two-time recipient of the Gary Withrow Award, which is presented annually to the A-State football team’s outstanding offensive lineman of the year.

Bonner, who completed his career at A-State in 2018, became just the second player in school history to earn the recognition as he joined Matt Mandich (2007 & 2008) and Tanner Jenkins (2005 & 2006). The award was created and is funded by the Old Warriors Foundation, which consists of former Arkansas State University football players.

Withrow coached A-State offensive linemen for 17 years. His pupils included former NFL players Ken Jones (Buffalo Bills) and Ray Brown (San Francisco 49ers, St. Louis Cardinals, Washington Redskins, Detroit Lions), who concluded his 20-year NFL career with the Redskins.

Bonner was tabbed first team all-conference as both a junior and senior, while also finding a place on the 2018 Outland Trophy Watch List. He was listed as the No. 3 “Top 10 NFL Talent in the Sun Belt” by Lindy’s in 2018 as well.

The Birmingham, Ala., native helped lead A-State to two of the top three averages in A-State history for total offense, including the 2017 season when the Red Wolves averaged a school-record 494.8 yards per game. He started every game of his two-year career at A-State, including the 2017 Camellia Bowl and 2018 Arizona Bowl.

Gary Withrow Award Winners
2003 – Kimani Jones
2004 – Steven Gibbs
2005 – Tanner Jenkins
2006 – Tanner Jenkins
2007 – Matt Mandich
2008 – Matt Mandich
2009 – Derek Newton
2010 – Sifa Etu
2011 – Tom Castilaw
2012 – Zack McKnight
2013 – Steven Haunga
2014 – Alan Wright
2015 – Colton Jackson
2016 – Jemar Clark
2017 – Lanard Bonner
2018 – Lanard Bonner