JONESBORO, Ark. (4/29/19) – The Arkansas State Athletics Department has announced it will host a watch party with its Sun Belt Conference championship men’s golf team during the 2019 NCAA Division I Championships Selection Show on Wednesday, May 1.


Open to the public, the event will be held at Centennial Bank Stadium’s Woodard McAlister Family Club.  While doors will open at 7:00 p.m., the actual show will air at 8 p.m. on Golf Channel’s Golf Central and be streamed live on the Golf Channel web site.


The Red Wolves have already secured an automatic bid into the NCAA Championships after claiming their first ever Sun Belt title, but will find out their regional-tournament destination and seeding during the show.


Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 12-15.  Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on those teams will compete at each of the three regionals, while the other regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams.  The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.


The six regional sites include Palouse Ridge Golf Club in Pullman, Washington, hosted by Washington State University; Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, California, hosted by Stanford University; TPC Myrtle Beach in Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, hosted by Coastal Carolina University and Myrtle Beach Regional Sports Alliance; University of Louisville Golf Club in Simpsonville, Kentucky, hosted by the University of Louisville; University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Georgia, hosted by the University of Georgia; and University of Texas Golf Club in Austin, Texas, hosted by the University of Texas.


NCAA team and individual medalist titles will be decided May 24-29 at Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Ark.


While the Red Wolves won their first ever Sun Belt title this year, it was their second all-time conference championship after also winning the American South Conference in 1989.  They will now make their fifth all-time team appearance in an NCAA Regional and their first since 2002.