JONESBORO, Ark. (11/6/06) - Terry Gwin, a former Arkansas State football standout and the namesake of the prestigious Terry Gwin Award, will become a member of the elite ASU Ring of Honor Nov. 11 when the Indians host Middle Tennessee in Indian Stadium.

Gwin, a Dallas, Texas, businessman, becomes the 12th member to the Ring to join Calvin Harrell (1996), Bill Bergey and Bill Templeton (1997), J.A. “Ike” Tomlinson and Harry Larche (1998), Bill Davidson (1999), Bennie Ellender (2000), Larry Lacewell and Frank Farella (2001), Maurice Carthon (2002) and Bill Phillips (2003).

The induction ceremony will take place during halftime of the game. All ASU football lettermen are invited to come to the field to form a ring for the induction. Kickoff for that key Sun Belt Conference battle is set for 4:05 p.m. in Indian Stadium.

“I am tremendously excited,” said Gwin. “It is a great honor for me and I am so humbled to be mentioned in the same breath with the great people who are in the Ring. It's mind-boggling.”

“Terry Gwin has always been instrumental in enhancing ASU's commitment to the total development of the student-athlete through his generosity,” said Templeton, ASU's Director of Major Gifts. “As a former player, he believes in showing the same type of spirit in the academic advancement of student-athletes as he did on the football field. It is only fitting that he become a part of this special Ring of Honor.”

Gwin, a native of Memphis, Tenn., lettered two years at ASU as a quarterback and running back. He twice led the Indians in rushing-in 1965 with 607 yards on 135 carries and in 1966 with 534 yards on 110 carries. He also led the team in scoring with seven touchdowns and total offense in 1965 with 826 yards.

At that time, his 200-yard rushing game against Tennessee Tech in 1965 was the second-best game ever by an ASU player. It still ranks ninth on the all-time list. Gwin was also named second-team Associated Press All-America as a running back in 1965.

“I have a lot of great memories and I love coming back to ASU,” continued Gwin. “I'm still best friends with a lot of people from my days at Arkansas State. Those relationships, the camaraderie with players and coaches, means more to me than anything.”

Gwin is responsible for helping to start the ASU Indian Club endowment program by contributing $100,000 in 1984 to help initiate a scholar-athlete fund for tutoring, counseling and advisement of students involved in athletics. At that time, it was the largest financial donation from an ASU alum to the athletic department.

In addition, an award arose from Gwin's contribution called the Terry Gwin Scholar-Athlete Award that is the highest award an ASU student-athlete may receive. It is presented annually to the top male and top female student-athlete who has exhibited character, leadership, scholarship, and athletic performance during their careers at ASU.

Forty-four student-athletes from ASU have been recipients of the Terry Gwin Award including fullback Oren O'Neal and former tennis standout Marina Engelbrecht, the spring 2006 winners.