JONESBORO, Ark. (5/16/19) – Eight men and eight women student-athletes will represent the Arkansas State University track and field program at the NCAA West Region Preliminaries May 23-25 at Hornet Stadium in Sacramento, Calif.  

The 16 student-athletes comprise entries into 14 events, including both the men’s and women’s 4x100-meter relays. This is the fifth-straight season that the Red Wolves will have entrants in 14 or more events.

Caitland Smith (100m/200m/4x100m relay), Osereme Erewele (4x100m relay), Jonae Cook (4x100m relay), Kerra Williams (4x100m relay), Sydney Lane (high jump), Imani Udoumana (triple jump), Grace Flowers (shot put/discus throw) and Babette Vandeput (discus throw) have qualified for the women’s meet while Bennett Pascoe (3,000m steeplechase), Amari James (110m hurdles/4x100m relay), Ke’Von Holder (110m hurdles/4x100m relay), Jermie Walker (4x100m relay), Courtney Thomas (4x100m relay/long jump), Tiaan Steenkamp (high jump), Michael Carr (pole vault) and Carter Shell (long jump/triple jump).

Athletes who rank among the top 48 in their respective events earn berths into the NCAA West Preliminary Round. The best 24 relay times advance to the NCAA prelims. Athletes with the top 12 times/marks and the best 12 relay teams at both the East and West prelims will qualify for the NCAA Championships in Austin, Texas, June 5-8.

The 2019 NCAA West Region Preliminary begins Thursday, May 23, with the men’s hammer throw and women’s javelin throw beginning at 2:00 p.m. (CT). The women’s 400-meter hurdles at 6:30 p.m. (CT) is the first event on the track.

Senior Caitland Smith will have a busy weekend as she will run in three different events. She enters the meet ranked 10th regionally in the 100-meter dash (11.25) and 21st in the 200-meter dash (23.25). The women’s 4x100-meter relay set a Sun Belt Conference Championship meet record and the school record with a time of 44.70 seconds last week at the SBC Outdoor Championships. Smith will be joined by freshmen Osereme Erewele, Jonae Cook and Kerra Williams in the 4x100-meter relay in which A-State enters ranked 14th.

The A-State women will see five competitors in four field events as well. Freshman Sydney Lane ranks 31st among the qualifiers in the high jump (1.75m/5-9.25) while sophomore Imani Udoumana is ranked 32nd in the triple jump (12.69m/41-7.75). Sophomore Grace Flowers is 29th in the discus throw (52.90m/173-7) and will be joined by teammate Babbette Vandeput (37th | 51.76m/169-10) in that competition with Flowers also competing in shot put (15.23m/49-11.75) coming into the meet ranked 47th.

Sophomore Bennett Pascoe ranks 45th in the 3,000-meter steeplechase (9:00.82) while junior Amari James ranks 45th in the 110-meter hurdles (14.21). James will join sophomore Ke’Von Holder and freshmen Jermie Walker and Courtney Thomas in the 4x100-meter relay in which A-State ranks 23rd (40.41).

In field events, the Red Wolves will have five athletes in four events. Senior Tiaan Steenkamp ranks 21st with a clearance of 2.14m (7-0.25) while senior Michael Carr ranks ninth in pole vault at 5.48m (17-11.75). Sophomore Carter Shell competes in both the long jump and triple jump as he ranks 22nd in the long jump (7.61m/24-11.75) and 47th in the triple jump (15.01m/49-3). Thomas will also compete in the long jump as he ranks 34th with a leap of 7.53m (24-8.50).

For the latest on the A-State track and field, log onto the team’s Facebook page at or follow the team on Twitter or Instagram at @AStateTrack. 

NCAA West Preliminary Round
Hornet Stadium | Sacramento, Calif.

110m Hurdles: Amari James and Ke'Von Holder | First Round – May 24 7:00 PM (CT), Quarterfinal – May 25 9:20 PM (CT)
3000m Steeplechase: Bennett Pascoe | Quarterfinal – May 24 11:00 PM (CT)
4x100m Relay:
Amari James, Ke’Von Holder, Jermie Walker, Courtney Thomas | Quarterfinal – May 25 8:15 PM (CT)
High Jump:
Tiaan Steenkamp | First Round – May 25 6:00 PM (CT)
Pole Vault:
Michael Carr | First Round – May 23 6:30 PM (CT)
Long Jump: Carter Shell and Courtney Thomas | First Round – May 23 5:30 PM (CT)
Triple Jump:
Carter Shell | First Round – May 25 8:30 PM (CT)

100m Dash:
Caitland Smith | First Round – May 23 8:30 PM (CT), Quarterfinal – May 24 8:00 PM (CT)
200m Dash:
Caitland Smith | First Round – May 24 9:30 PM (CT), Quarterfinal – May 25 9:35 PM (CT)
4x100m Relay:
Caitland Smith, Osereme Erewele, Jonae Cook, Kerra Williams | Quarterfinal – May 25 8:00 PM (CT)
High Jump:
Sydney Lane | First Round – May 23 5:30 PM (CT)
Triple Jump:
Imani Udoumana | First Round – May 25 5:00 PM (CT)
Shot Put:
Grace Flowers | First Round – May 25 7:15 PM (CT)
Discus Throw:
Grace Flowers and Babette Vandeput | First Round – May 24 2:00 PM (CT)