JONESBORO, Ark. (12/14/17) – Arkansas State head baseball coach Tommy Raffo was named the Chairman of the American Baseball Coaches Association NCAA Division I All-America Committee in a recent announcement by the ABCA.

Raffo has served as the head of the Central Region for the past four seasons (2014-17) for the ABCA and will step in for Dean Ehehart, who had been the head of the national committee for the past 10 seasons.

The All-America Committee is responsible for establishing and executing procedures for selecting the All-Region and three All-America teams and for determining the regional coaches of the year, National Coach of the Year, the National Player of the Year and the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards.

Coach Raffo is the third winningest coach in A-State history with 258 wins and the Red Wolves have won at least two games in the Sun Belt Conference Tournament the past eight seasons, the only team in the league to accomplish that feat.

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 8,200 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth.

For the latest on A-State baseball follow the team by logging onto the Arkansas State Baseball Facebook page or by following the team on Twitter (@AStateBaseball) and Instagram (arkansasstatebaseball).