JONESBORO, Ark. (11/15/17) – Junior outside hitter Carlisa May was named the Sun Belt Conference Volleyball Offensive Player of the Year and was named First-Team All-Conference accolades along with Drew Jones, while Ellie Watkins and Tatum Ticknor picked up Second-Team All-SBC honors as the league announced its postseason awards Wednesday morning.

A native of Lee’s Summit, Mo., May claimed her second straight SBC Offensive Player of the Year award after she posted 430 kills for a 4.10 per set average to rank second in the league. She was even better in conference play with 247 kills for a 4.19 per set average as she was one of only two players in the Sun Belt to average more than four kills per set. Additionally, she was named the league’s Offensive Player of the Week on four different occasions.

Jones, a native of Fort Smith, Ark., tallied 354 kills for a 3.37 per set average to rank fifth in the league. The senior also picked up 254 digs for a 2.42 per set average that is third on the team and registered a team-high 12 double-doubles. Additionally, the outside hitter is tied for the team lead in aces with 20 and has the third most blocks on the team with 50.

A native of Weldon Spring, Mo., Watkins handed out a league-high 11.07 assists per set for a total of 830 after missing a handful of matches due to injury. The setter totaled 67 kills, 133 digs, 26 blocks, and 11 aces and was named the SBC Setter of the Week twice in the regular season. The junior was even better in league play with an 11.12 assists per set ratio. Additionally, she led A-State to a .464 hitting percentage against Georgia Southern Oct. 28, which was the highest since 2011.

Ticknor, who hails from Grapevine, Texas, leads the league with a 5.02 digs per set average and has 532 for the season. The libero was named the SBC Defensive Player of the Week during week two of the season. Additionally, she is tied for the team lead in service aces with 20 and has dished out 88 assists.

The First-Team All-SBC honor for May is the third of her career, while the All-Conference honors for Jones, Watkins, and Ticknor are the first of their careers. The four selections for the Red Wolves were tied with Louisiana for the second most in the league, while Texas State had six.

Arkansas State is the fourth seed in the Sun Belt Conference Tournament, scheduled for Nov. 16-19 at First National Bank Arena in Jonesboro. The Red Wolves open the event Friday, Nov. 17 at 7:30 p.m. against the winner of fifth seed South Alabama and eighth seed Troy.

Fans can follow the team on Twitter (@AStateVB) and Instagram (astatevb) along with liking the Arkansas State University Volleyball page on Facebook for the latest news and updates regarding the team.

First Team All-Sun Belt

Drew Jones (Arkansas State, Senior, OH)

*Carlisa May (Arkansas State, Junior, OH)

*Leah Hardeman (Coastal Carolina, Senior, OH)

Lauren Reichard (Georgia Southern, Junior, MH)

Dree'Ana Abram (Louisiana, Sophomore, MB)

Hali Wisnoskie (Louisiana, Freshman, OH)

Kelley Hartman (South Alabama, Sophomore, MB)

**Qiana Cañete (UTA, Senior, OH)

Madison Daigle (Texas State, Junior, MB)

Micah Dinwiddie (Texas State, Sophomore, DS)

**Erin Hoppe (Texas State, Senior, S)

Amy Pflughaupt (Texas State, Sophomore, OH)

Second Team All-Sun Belt

Melissa McMath (Appalachian State, Sophomore, OH)

Marina Avram (Little Rock, Senior, OH)

Tatum Ticknor (Arkansas State, Freshman, DS)

Ellie Watkins (Arkansas State, Junior, S)

Sydney Alvis (Coastal Carolina, Junior, DS)

Celeste Friesen (Georgia State, Sophomore, DS)

Jessica Bartczyszyn (Louisiana, Senior, S)

Sydney Davis (Louisiana, Junior, LB)

Kristina Alabastro (South Alabama, Junior, OH)

Zhanelle Geathers (UTA, Junior, MB)

Jaliyah Bolden (Texas State, Senior, MB)

Megan Porter (Texas State, Sophomore, OH)

Player of the Year

Leah Hardeman (Coastal Carolina, Senior, OH)

Offensive Player of the Year

Carlisa May (Arkansas State, Junior, OH)

Defensive Player of the Year

Micah Dinwiddie (Texas State, Sophomore, DS)

Setter of the Year

Erin Hoppe (Texas State, Senior, S)

Freshman of the Year

Hali Wisnoskie (Louisiana, Freshman, OH)

Newcomer of the Year

Amy Pflughaupt (Texas State, Sophomore, OH)

Coach of the Year

Jozsef Foreman, Coastal Carolina

 * - 2016 First Team All-Conference selection       ** - 2016 Second Team All-Conference selection