W Golf Coaching Staff
Share |
M.J. Desbiens Shaw
Head Coach
Coach Info:
Position: Head Coach
Experience: 2 Years
Phone: 870-972-2708
Now in her seventh season at Arkansas State, Marie-Josee (M.J.) Desbiens Shaw is the longest tenured women’s head golf coach in school history.

Since her arrival, she has piled up the second most tournament championships (6) and top-three finishes (16) among all the Red Wolves’ head coaches.

Under her tutelage, Anna Carling became just the second A-State women’s golfer to ever claim medalist honors at the Sun Belt Conference Championships in 2011.

Including Carling, she has coached four players who have earned All-Sun Belt recognition. Most recently, Aracelly Jimenez Rios was named a 2016 First Team All-Sun Belt Conference selection and became the first student-athlete in the history of the Red Wolves’ women’s golf program to earn the league’s Freshman of the Year honors.

Placing a strong emphasis on academics as well, Desbiens Shaw has seen her A-State student-athletes earn All-America Scholar honors 22 times. The Red Wolves had a school-record six players make the 2015-16 list, which also tied the second most in the nation. Her team’s have earned Public Recognition Awards from the NCAA each of the last two years for achieving a multi-year Academic Progress Rate (APR) score that ranked in the top 10 percent of all women’s golf teams in the nation.

Her first six seasons at the helm, Desbiens Shaw led A-State to three Lady Red Wolves Classic titles in 2011, 2012 and 2015. A-State has never finished lower than third place in its home tournament under Desbiens Shaw, including a runner-up showing in 2013.

Desbiens Shaw immediately led the Red Wolves to their best showing in the Sun Belt Conference Tournament in five years, and has now directed them to 50 top-10 finishes in 61 tournament’s coached.

Last season (2015-16), A-State finished fifth at the Sun Belt Conference Tournament for their best showing at the league championships since placing fourth in 2004. The Red Wolves had two players (Jimenez Rios and Beth Ann Compton) claim top-10 individual finishes at the tourney for the first time since 2003.

In 2011, Carling became the first A-State player to win the Sun Belt Conference Tournament since 1999, and Desbiens Shaw also tutored Jennifer Welch, Abi Laker and Jimenez Rios to All-Sun Belt Conference seasons in 2012, 2013 and 2016, respectively. All four players hold five of the top six single-season stroke averages in school history, including Laker (2013) and Jimenez Rios (2016) with a 75.7 average. Desbiens Shaw also coached Megan Garland, who holds the third highest single-season stroke average in school history (76.0 in 2014-15).

A member of the LPGA Teaching Division from 1995-2006, Desbiens Shaw came to A-State after serving as the head women's golf coach at Oklahoma City University. At OCU she directed the Stars to back-to-back NAIA national championships in 2008 and 2009, a national runner-up finish and three Sooner Athletic Conference titles. She was named NAIA Coach of the Year following both championship seasons and SAC Coach of the Year in 2009. Prior to her time at Oklahoma City, Desbiens Shaw was the associate head golf coach at the University of Oklahoma for 10 years.

Desbiens Shaw (pronounced DAY-bee-IN) directed Oklahoma City University to 17 tournament victories in 30 starts. She coached one NAIA individual champion, eight first-team all-Americans, four honorable-mention all-Americans, the NAIA Region VI champion, three SAC individual champions, four all-region players, 10 all-conference performers and three NAIA scholar-athlete award winners.

At Oklahoma, she helped direct the Sooners to a sixth-place finish at the 2002 NCAA Championships and coached nine All-Big 12 golfers, 38 academic all-Big 12 picks and 20 all-American scholars.

A native of Quebec City, Canada, Desbiens Shaw earned her Bachelor of Business Administration degree from the University of Oklahoma, where she was a four-year letterwinner and captain of the Sooners' women's golf team. She was also a member of the Canadian national team from 1990-94 and was the 1990 Canadian Junior Champion.
Follow Us - Twitter
Follow Us - Facebook